Having my Kindle app and read it too…

Apparently in Germany HP feels secure enough to run around teasing people with live demos of the Kindle app running on a tPad. Their insecurities might get out of hand if they demo’d a unit here in the States to a resounding wall of disinterest.

Either that or they’d get tired of answering “Hey, since you have a working copy, can you use that tappy sharing thingy to share a copy onto my tPad here???”

But the bigger question to me is what could have happened to lead to such a drastic withdrawal of a book reading application? In my own personal case I had a functional copy of the Kindle app on my HP TouchPad when I purchased it at Best Buy. I regret answering “Yes” when asked if I wanted to install the new copy of the app on that bus ride home from the Best Buy. I can only plead that thoughts of Sugar Plums and Unicorns distracted me.

I still have Dirty Pad’s brother boxed up in the living room. I’m wrestling with whether I should let his brother out and see if I can answer “No” on him and get a working Kindle app…. or leave him boxed up and send him back to Amazon.

But the reason I post here is of course the renewed speculation on the imminent arrival of the Kindle app. If it isn’t the demos in Germany it’s the expectations on Unicorns on Monday for the “real launch” of the HP TouchPad here in the USA.

But again, why did the app get pulled like that? And what happened to the HP Movie Store which similarly got embarrassingly replaced with a nearly identical IOU app?

My thought: DRM.

I’m thinking someone figured out how to slip past the digital rights management and grab the cookies to share with others.

The pro-HTML 5 application development camp will tell you that the HP TouchPad rocks because all you need is NotePad.exe and a competent HTML 5 browser (IE9?) to develop for the HP TouchPad. Bah! Goes the argument, I don’t know why HP even bothers to distribute a developer kit for it.

Well, there is one issue with HTML 5: it firmly believes data wants to be free.

Or at least if it isn’t free it hides behind a pay wall.

At which point, once someone pays to get it past the pay wall: it’s free. 🙂

An example of this is the Kindle Web Reader. Didn’t know Amazon had an HTML 5 Kindle Reader Application?

Well they do.

Well, kind of.

For over a year now you’ve be able to surf over to Amazon *http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html?docId=1000579091 and read a few demo chapters out of a few of their free ebooks. They’ve had a shingle out saying “Check back soon” for the full capability Reader that would let you tap into your Kindle Digital Content Locker and read your Kindle ebooks.

I beat at path to the Web Reader when I discovered my Kindle app had been IOU’d only to discover it was still not functional.

The other place Amazon has had a “Check back soon” shingle hanging out is on the Blackberry Playbook. Which is another HTML 5 or Flash only platform: no native development yet. In addition the Playbook has no access to Hulu or Netflix.

To me I look at all this and the conclusion I come to is I’m a law abiding customer being harmed by the fears of content owners that I’ll go rogue and start giving away copies of their content.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

