There is a hole in my Dirty Pad’s mind

I keep reading blogs from others in which the virtues of the HP TouchPad as a business tool are celebrated.

I’ve been carrying my iPad 2 and Dirty Pad to work with me to work for a week now. Thank goodness I can carry more than 5 lbs again! (note to my cardiologist: you did rescind the limitation on carrying more than 5 lbs right?) affectionately

Yes the reason I still have the Dirty Pad and the reason I call it the Dirty Pad in my HP 11c calculator. If HP could make a mobile device I could carry and use for 30 years surely this same company could make the most powerful Tablet in existence!

The WebOS card Interface is quite intuitive. Others have covered in depth how it is used and I submit here that I agree with all those sage words written by others.

But I raise my hand and ask one question: so after I spend hours setting up all my decks of cards and my Dirty Pad reboots: where did all my carefully constructed decks of cards go? I get them back right?

Well actually: no, you don’t.

And that my dear reader is where I have had to get off the train that says the HP TouchPad has raised the bar for Tablets in the enterprise. I’m pretty sure that if I reached out to my co-workers to re-schedule a meeting because “Sorry folks my HP TouchPad ate my card deck of notes I was assembling for the meeting today” it wouldn’t fly (unless perhaps it was a Friday afternoon meeting).

So which to have HP fix first?

One could vote for fixing the reboots first but I submit that the HP Application Market has requested I reboot my HP TouchPad once already. That’s not a typo, yes, it requested I reboot the HP TouchPad. Seems Windows hasn’t been left far behind by HP, sigh. So it would seem reboots are going to be part of the Dirty Pad’s future for awhile.

So I submit HP should fix the system to store away the card decks we’ve beavered away to assemble and restore them upon reboot. HP extolls the virtues of Instant On, I say how about Instant Reboot!

Of course that feature name would then lead to discussions about how instant the current reboot isn’t, it presently taking 1:30 to boot up an HP TouchPad. (Is the HP TouchPad secretly running a copy of Windows 7 under the covers and booting into a WebOS emulator? How else to explain the boot time?)

But how about it dear reader? Should the HP TouchPad not be carefully saving away each of our cards as we create them so that if something untold occurs, or we are politely requested to, and a reboot occurs we come back to our deck of cards as we last had them assembled?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

